AMGEN
 

Maria-Contreras-SweetOn Thursday, October 16, 2014, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) announced the launch of “Destination: HUB.”

Since 1998, the SBA’s HUBZone program has served small businesses in urban and rural communities to gain preferential access to federal procurement opportunities. The program encourages economic development and employment growth in “Historically Underutilized Business Zones” by providing opportunities for companies to become active participants in the federal supply chain.

“Destination: HUB” will promote and highlight HUBZones for opportunities in federal procurement, according to SBA Administrator Maria Contreras-Sweet

“More than any other SBA initiative, the HUBZone Program has been a critical resource, creating jobs, alleviating poverty and reducing unemployment in our nation’s most vulnerable communities.  The program has had a transformational effect on small businesses all across the country. SBA’s Destination: HUB will put a spotlight on our underserved small businesses and promote HUBZones as ideal places for government contractors to do business,” Contreras-Sweet said.

The SBA maintains a goal of providing 3% of the federal government contracts to HUBZone businesses. According to Contreras-Sweet, HUBZone businesses only received 1.7% of federal contracts in 2013. The new initiative is intended to better aid the SBA in achieving, or even exceeding, its goal.

Destination: HUB will promote HUBZone firms in federal contract opportunities, while ensuring government officials, federal buyers, prime contractors, and local economic development boards cooperate to bring more awards directly for HUBZone businesses.

In an effort to generate maximum effectiveness, Destination HUB will consist of three major components.

1) Examining the successes and needs in the HUBZone program.

2) Analyzing the ideal situations for successful HUBZone collaboration, using the power of public and private partnerships and market research to recruit more firms for HUBZone participation.

3) Launching an educational initiative, in collaboration with community organizations, faith leaders, local economic development, and key stakeholders, to encourage participation in and inspire collective ownership of, the HUBZone program, at both the regional and national levels.

It is the hope of Contreras-Sweet that Destination HUB will further the SBA’s effort to improve access to capital and close opportunity gaps in communities of color by empowering entrepreneurs and small business owners’ economic and social mobility through employment and business growth.

The Veteran and Military Business Owners Association (VAMBOA) is a non-profit business trade association that promotes and assists Veteran Business Owners, Service Disabled Veteran Owned Businesses (SDVOB) and Military Business Owners. Small businesses are the backbone of our economy and responsible for job generation. That is why VAMBOA provides its members with Business Coaching, Contracting Opportunities, a Blog that provides information, Networking contacts and other resources. Membership is FREE to Veterans. Join Now!

VAMBOA: New SBA Initiative: By Debbie Gregory

Alabama SBDC
Mr. Brian K. Davis, Acting Director
UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA
Box 870396
500 Colonial Drive, 201 Bidgood Hall
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0396
Phone: 205-348-1582
Fax: 205-348-6974
E-Mail: asbdc@ua.edu
Website: http://www.asbdc.org

Alaska SBDC
Mr. Jason Dinneen, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF ALASKA – ANCHORAGE
430 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 110
Anchorage, AK 99501-3550
Phone: 907-274 -7232
Fax: 907-272-0565
E-Mail: anjad2@uaa.alaska.edu
Website: http://www.aksbdc.org

American Samoa SBDC
Mr. Herbert Thweatt, Director
AMERICAN SAMOA COMMUNITY COLLEGE
P.O. Box 2609
Pago Pago, American Samoa 96799
Phone: 011-684-699-4830
Fax: 011-684-699-6132
E-Mail: htalex@worldet.att.net
Website: http://www.as-sbdc.org

Arizona SBDC
Ms. Janice C. Washington, State Director
ARIZONA SMALL BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT CENTER NETWORK
Maricopa County Community College

2411 West 14th Street, Suite 114
Tempe, AZ 85281
Phone: (480)731-8722
Fax: (480)731-8729
E-Mail: janice.washington@domail.maricopa.edu
Website: https://www.azsbdc.net/Default.aspx

Arkansas SBDC
Ms. Janet M. Roderick, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS at Little Rock
2801 South University Avenue, Rm 260
Little Rock, AR 72204
Phone: 501-683-7700
Fax: 501-683-7720
E-Mail: jmroderick@ualr.edu
Website: http://asbdc.ualr.edu

California – Santa Ana SBDC
Tri-County Lead SBDC
Ms. Vi Pham, Lead Center Director
CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY – FULLERTON
800 North State College Boulevard, LH640
Fullerton, CA 92834
Phone: 714-278-2719
Fax: 714-278-7858
E-Mail: vpham@fullerton.edu
Website: http://www.leadsbdc.org

California – San Diego SBDC
Ms. Debbie P. Trujillo, Regional Director
SOUTHWESTERN COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT
900 Otay Lakes Road, Bldg. 1681
Chula Vista, CA 91910-7299
Phone: 619-482-6388
Fax: 619-482-6402
E-Mail: dtrujillo@swc.cc.ca.us
Website: http://www.sbditc.org

California – Fresno SBDC
UC Merced Lead Center
Diane Howerton, Regional Director
UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA – MERCED
550 East Shaw, Suite 100
Fresno, CA 93710-7702
Phone: 559-241-6590
Fax: 559-241-7422
E-Mail: dhowerton@ucmerced.edu
Website: http://sbdc.ucmerced.edu

California – Sacramento SBDC
Mr. Dan Ripke, Director
CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY – CHICO
35 Main Street, Room 203
Chico, CA 95929-0765
Phone: 530-898-4598
Fax: 530-898-4734
E-Mail: dripke@csuchico.edu
Website: http://www.necsbdc.org

California – San Francisco SBDC
Northern California SBDC Lead Center
Ms. Kristin Johnson, Regional Director
HUMBOLDT STATE UNIVERSITY
Office of Economic Development
1 Harpst Street
Arcata, CA, 95521
Phone: 707-826-3920
E-Mail: kristin.johnson@humboldt.edu
Website: http://www.norcalsbdc.org

California – Los Angeles Region SBDC
Ms. Sheneui Sloan, Interim Lead Center Director
LONG BEACH COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT
3950 Paramount Boulevard, Ste 101
Lakewood, CA 90712
Phone: 562-938-5004
Fax: 562-938-5030
E-Mail: ssloan@lbcc.edu
Website: www.lasbdcnet.ibcc.edu/lead.html

Colorado SBDC
Ms.Kelly Manning, State Director
OFFICE OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
1625 Broadway, Suite 2700
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: 303-892-3864
Fax: 303-892-3848
E-Mail: Kelly.Manning@state.co.us
Website: http://www.coloradosbdc.org

Connecticut SBDC
Ms. Ginne-Rae Clay, State Director
University of Central Connecticut

185 Main Street
New Britain, CT 06051
Phone: 860-827-7104
Fax: 860-827-7112
E-Mail: gilmoregin@ccsu.edu
Website: http://www.ccsu.edu/sbdc/

Delaware SBDC
Mr. Clinton Tymes, State Director
DELAWARE TECHNOLOGY PARK
1 Innovation Way, Suite 301
Newark, DE 19711
Phone: 302-831-1555
Fax: 302-831-1423
E-Mail: tymesc@udel.edu
Website: http://www.delawaresbdc.org

District of Columbia SBDC
Mr. Henry Turner, Executive Director
HOWARD UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF BUSINESS
2600 6th Street, NW Room 128
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: 202-806-1550
Fax: 202-806-1777
E-Mail: hturner@howard.edu
Website: http://www.dcsbdc.org/

Florida SBDC
Mr. Jerry Cartwright, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF WEST FLORIDA
401 East Chase Street, Suite 100
Pensacola, FL 32502-6160
Phone: 850-473-7800
Fax: 850-473-7813
E-Mail: jcartwright@uwf.edu
Website: http://www.floridasbdc.com

Georgia SBDC
Mr. Allan Adams, Interim State Director
UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA
1180 East Broad Street
Athens, GA 30602-5412
Phone: 706-542-2762
Fax: 706-542-7935
E-mail: aadams@georgiasbdc.org
Website: http://www.georgiasbdc.org

Hawaii SBDC
Mr. Darryl Mleynek, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII – HILO
308 Kamehameha Avenue, Suite 201
Hilo, HI 96720-2960
Phone: 808-974-7515
Fax: 808-974-7683
E-Mail: darryl.mleynek@hawaii-sbdc.org
Website: http://www.hawaii-sbdc.org

Idaho SBDC
Mr. Jim Hogge, State Director
BOISE STATE UNIVERSITY
1910 University Drive
Boise, ID 83725-1655
Phone: 208-426-3799
Fax: 208-426-3877
E-mail: jhogge@boisestate.edu
Website: http://www.idahosbdc.org

Illinois SBDC
Mr. Mark Petrilli, State Director
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY
620 East Adams Streer, 4th Floor
Springfield, IL 62701-1615
Phone: 217-524-5700
Fax: 217-524-0171
E-mail: mark.petrilli@Illinois.gov
Website: http://www.ilsbdc.biz

Indiana SBDC
Mr. Jeff Heinzmann, State Director
INDIANA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION
One North Capitol, Suite 900
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2043
Phone: 317-234-2086
Fax: 317-232-8872
E-mail: jheinzmann@ilsbdc.org
Website: http://www.isbdc.org

Iowa SBDC
Mr. Jim Heckman, State Director
IOWA STATE UNIVERSITY
340 Gerdin Business Bldg.
Ames, IA 50011-1350
Phone: 515-294-2030
Fax: 515-294-6522
E-mail: jimh@iastate.edu
Website: http://www.iowasbdc.org

Kansas SBDC
Mr. Wally Kearns, State Director
FORT HAYS STATE UNIVERSITY
214 SW Sixth Street, Suite 301
Topeka, KS 66603-3719
Phone: 785-296-6514
Fax: 785-291-3261
E-mail: ksbdc.wkearns@fhsu.edu
Website: http://www.kansas.gov/ksbdc/

Kentucky SBDC
Ms. Becky Naugle, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY
225 Gatton College of Business Economics Building
Lexington, KY 40506-0034
Phone: 859-257-7668
Fax: 859-323-1907
E-mail: lrnaug0@uky.edu
Website: http://www.ksbdc.org

Louisiana SBDC
Ms. Mary Lynn Wilkerson, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF LOUISIANA – MONROE
College of Business Administration
700 University Avenue
Monroe, LA 71209-6435
Phone: 318-342-5506
Fax: 318-342-5510
E-mail: mlwillkerson@lsbdc.org
Website: http://www.lsbdc.org

Maine SBDC
Mark Delisle, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN MAINE
96 Falmouth Street P.O. Box 9300
Portland, ME 04103-9300
Phone: 207-780-4857
Fax: 207-780-4810
E-mail: mark.delisle@maine.edu
Website: http://www.mainesbdc.org

Maryland SBDC
Ms. Renee Sprow, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND
7100 Baltimore Avenue, Suite 401
College Park, MD 20740-3640
Phone: 301-403-8300 x 15
Fax: 301-403-8303
E-mail: rsprow@mdsbdc.umd.edu
Website: http://www.mdsbdc.umd.edu

Massachusetts SBDC
Ms. Georgianna Parkin, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF MASSACHUSETTS
227 Isenberg School of Management
121 President’s Drive
Amherst, MA 01003-9310
Phone: 413-545-6301
Fax: 413-545-1273
E-mail: gep@msbdc.umass.edu
Website: http://www.msbdc.org/

Michigan SBTDC
Ms. Carol Lopucki, State Director
GRAND VALLEY STATE UNIVERSITY
510 West Fulton Avenue
Grand Rapids, MI 49504
Phone: 616-331-7480
Fax: 616-331-7385
E-mail: sbtdchg@gvsu.edu
Website: http://www.misbtdc.org

Minnesota SBDC
Mr. Michael Myhre, State Director
MINNESOTA SMALL BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT CENTER
1st National Bank Building
332 Minnesota Street, Suite E200
St. Paul, MN 55101-1351
Phone: 651-297-5770
Fax: 651-296-5287
E-mail: michael.myhre@state.mn.us
Website: http://www.mnsbdc.com

Mississippi SBDC
Mr. Walter Gurley
UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI
B-19 Jeanette Phillips Drive
P.O. Box 1848
University, MS 38677-1848
Phone: 662-915-5001
Fax: 662-915-5650
E-mail: wgurley@olemiss.edu
Website: http://www.mssbdc.org

Missouri SBDC
Mr. Max Summers, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF MISSOURI
410 S. Sixth St.
200 Engineering North
Columbia, MO 65211
Phone: 573-882-0344
Fax: 573-884-4297
E-mail: summersm@missouri.edu
Website: http://www.missouribusiness.net/sbdc/

Montana SBDC
Ms. Ann Desch, State Director
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
301 South Park Avenue, Room 116 / P.O. Box 200505
Helena, MT 59601
Phone: 406-841-27468
Fax: 406-841-2728
E-mail: adesch@mt.gov
Website: http://sbdc.mt.gov/

Nebraska SBDC
Mr. Robert Bernier, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF NEBRASKA – OMAHA
415 Roskens Hall
6001 Dodge Street
Omaha, NE 68182 – 0248
Phone: 402-554-2521
Fax: 402-554-3473
E-mail: rbernier@unomaha.edu
Website: http://nbdc.unomaha.edu

Nevada SBDC
Mr. Sam Males, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF NEVADA – RENO
Reno College of Business
Nazir Ansari Bldg. 032, Rm 4
Reno, NV 89557-0100
Phone: 775-784-1717
Fax: 775-784-4337
E-mail: males@unr.edu
Website: http://www.nsbdc.org

New Hampshire SBDC
Ms. Mary Collins, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF NEW HAMPSHIRE
Mittemore School of Business and Economics, UNH
110 McConnell Hall
Durham, NH 03824-3593
Phone: 603-862-2200
Fax: 603-862-4876
E-mail: Mary.Collins@unh.edu
Website: http://www.nhsbdc.org

New Jersey SBDC
Ms. Brenda Hopper, State Director
RUTGERS UNIVERSITY
49 Bleeker Street
Newark, NJ 07102-1993
Phone: 973-353-1927
Fax: 973-353-1110
E-mail: bhopper@njsbdc.com
Website: http://www.njsbdc.com/

New Mexico SBDC
Mr. Roy Miller, State Director
SANTA FE COMMUNITY COLLEGE
6401 Richards Avenue
Santa Fe, NM 87508-4887
Phone: 505-428-1362
Fax: 505-428-1469
E-mail: rmiller@sfccnm.edu
Website: http://www.nmsbdc.org

New York SBDC
Mr. Jim King, State Director
STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK
Corporate Woods, 3rd Floor
Albany, NY 12246-0001
Phone: 518-443-5398
Fax: 518-443-5275
E-mail: j.king@nyssbdc.org
Website: http://www.nyssbdc.org

North Carolina SBDTC
Mr. Scott Daugherty, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA
5 West Hargett Street, Suite 600
Raleigh, NC 27601-1348
Phone: 919-715-7272
Fax: 919-715-7777
E-mail: sdaugherty@sbtdc.org
Website: http://www.sbtdc.org

North Dakota SBDC
Bon Wilkenheiser, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF NORTH DAKOTA
1600 E. Century Avenue, Suite 2
Bismarck, ND 58501
Phone: 701-328-5375
Fax: 701-328-5381
E-mail: bon@ndsbdc.org
Website: http://www.ndsbdc.org

Ohio SBDC
Ms. Karen Shauri, State Director
OHIO DEPARTMENT OF DEVELOPMENT
77 S. High St., 28th Floor
P.O. Box 1001
Columbus, OH 43216-1001
Phone: 614-466-2711
Fax: 614-466-0829
E-mail: karen.shauri@development.ohio.gov
Website: http://development.ohio.gov/Entrepreneurship/sbdc.htm

Oklahoma SBDC
Mr. Grady Pennington, State Director
SOUTHEAST OKLAHOMA STATE UNIVERSITY
1405 N 4th Avenue, PMB 2584
Durant, OK 74701-0609
Phone: 580-745-2877 x 2955
Fax: 580-745-7471
E-mail: gpennington@sosu.edu
Website: http://www.osbdc.org

Oregon SBDC
Mr. William Carter, State Director
LANE COMMUNITY COLLEGE
99 West Tenth Avenue, Suite 390
Eugene, OR 97401-3015
Phone: 541-463-5250
Fax: 541-345-6006
E-mail: carterb@lanecc.edu
Website: http://www.bizcenter.org

Guam Small Business Development Center
Mr. Casey Jeszenka, Director
UNIVERSITY OF GUAM
Pacific Islands SBDC
P.O. Box 5014 – U.O.G. Station Mangilao
Mangilao, GU 96923
Phone: 671-735-2590
Fax: 671-734-2002
E-mail: casey@pacificsbdc.com
Website: http://www.pacificsbdc.com
* For Guam time, add 15 hours to EST

Pennsylvania SBDC
Mr. Gregory Higgins, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA
The Wharton School
3733 Spruce Street, Vance Hall, 4th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6374
Phone: 215-898-1219
Fax: 215-573-2135
E-mail: ghiggins@wharton.upenn.edu
Website: http://pasbdc.org

Puerto Rico SBDC
Ms. Carmen Marti, Executive Director
INTER-AMERICAN UNIVERSITY OF PUERTO RICO
Union Plaza Building, Suite 1000
416 Ponce de Leon Avenue, 10th Floor
Hato Rey, PR 00918
Phone: 787-763-6811
Fax: 787-763-6875
E-mail: cmarti@prsbdc.org
Website: http://www.prsbdc.org

Rhode Island SBDC
Mr. John Cronin, State Director
JOHNSON & WALES UNIVERSITY
270 Weybosset Street, 4th Floor
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: 401-598-2704
Fax: 401-598-2722
E-mail: john.cronin@jwu.edu
Website: http://www.risbdc.org

South Carolina SBDC
Ms. Michele Abraham,
State Director
817 Calhoun Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: 803-777-4907
Fax: 803-254-8512
E-mail: abrahm2@mailbox.sc.edu
Website: http://scsbdc.moore.sc.edu

South Dakota SBDC
Mr. John S. Hemmingstad, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH DAKOTA
Beacom School of Business
414 East Clark Street, Patterson Hall
Vermillion, SD 57069
Phone: 605-677-5287Fax: 605-677-5427
E-mail: jshemmin@usd.edu
Website: http://www.sdsbdc.org

Tennessee SBDC
Mr. Patrick Geho, State Director
MIDDLE TENNESEE STATE UNIVERSITY
615 Memorial Boulevard
Murfreesboro, TN 37132
Phone: 615-849-9999
Fax: 615-217-8548
E-mail: pgeho@mail.tsbdc.org
Website: http://www.tsbdc.org

Texas-Houston SBDC
Mr. Mike Young, Executive Director
UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON
2302 Fannin, Suite 200
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 713-752-8444
Fax: 713-756-1500
E-mail: fyoung@uh.edu
Website: http://sbdcnetwork.uh.edu

Texas-North SBDC
Ms. Liz Klimback, Region Director
DALLAS COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE
1402 Corinth Street, Suite 2111
Dallas, TX 75215
Phone: 214-860-5835
Fax: 214-860-5813
E-mail: emk9402@dcccd.edu
Website: http://www.ntsbdc.org

Texas-NW SBDC
Mr. Craig Bean, Regional Director
TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY
2579 South Loop 289, Suite 114
Lubbock, TX 79423-1637
Phone: 806-745-3973
Fax: 806-745-6207
E-mail: c.bean@nwtsbdc.org
Website: http://www.nwtsbdc.org

Texas-South-West Texas Border SBDC Network
Mr. Al Salgado, Region Director
UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS – SAN ANTONIO
501 West Durango Boulevard
San Antonio, TX 78207-4415
Phone: 210-458-2450
Fax: 210-458-2425
E-mail: ied@utsa.edu
Website: http://www.txsbdc.org

Utah SBDC
Mr. Greg Panichello, State Director
SALT LAKE COMMUNITY COLLEGE
9750 South 300 West – LHM
Salt Lake City, UT 84070
Phone: 801-957-3481
Fax: 801-957-2007E-mail: Greg.Panichello@slcc.edu
Website: http://www.utahsbdc.org/

Vermont SBDC
Ms. Lenae Quillen-Blume, State Director
VERMONT TECHNICAL COLLEGE
PO Box 188, 1 Main Street
Randolph Center, VT 05061-0188
Phone: 802-728-9101
Fax: 802-728-3026
E-mail: lquillen@vtsbdc.org
Website: http://www.vtsbdc.org

Virgin Islands SBDC
Leonor Dottin, Associate Director
UNIVERSITY OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS
8000 Nisky Center, Suite 720
Charlotte Amalie
St. Thomas, VI 00802-5804
Phone: 340-776-3206
Fax: 340-775-3756
E-mail: ldottin@uvi.edu
Website: http://sbdcvi.org

Virginia SBDC
Ms. Jody Keenan, Director
GEORGE MASON UNIVERSITY
Mason Enterprise Center
4031 University Drive, Suite 200
Fairfax, VA 22030-3409
Phone: 703-277-7727
Fax: 703-352-8518
E-mail: jkeenan@gmu.edu
Website: http://www.virginiasbdc.org

Washington SBDC
Mr. Brett Rogers, State Director
WASHINGTON STATE UNIVERSITY
534 E. Spokane Falls Blvd.
P.O. Box 1495
Spokane, WA 99210-1495
Phone: 509-358-7765
Fax: 509-358-7764
E-mail: barogers@wsu.edu
Website: http://www.wsbdc.org

West Virginia SBDC
M. E. Yancosek Gamble, State Director
WEST VIRGINIA DEVELOPMENT OFFICE
1900 Kanawha Blvd. E.
Charleston, WV 25305
Phone: 304-558-2960
Fax: 304-558-0127
E-mail: mgamble@wvsbdc.org
Website: http://www.sbdcwv.org

Wisconsin SBDC
Debra Malewicki, Acting State Director
UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN
432 North Lake Street, Room 423
Madison, WI 53706
Phone: 608-263-7794
Fax: 608-263-7830
E-mail: debra.malewicki@uwex.edu
Website: http://www.wisconsinsbdc.org

Wyoming SBDC
Ms. Diane Wolvertton, State Director
UNIVERSITY OF WYOMING
1000 E. University, Dept. 3922
Laramie, WY 82979
Phone: 307-766-3505
Fax: 307-766-3406
E-mail: DDW@uwyo.edu
Website: http://www.uwyo.edu/sbdc